History


The Trafostation 61-Festival originated in 2009 and 2010 in the former Frechener bands "Dill" and "Grandma Death"’s rehearsal space. Besides crazy jam sessions and smaller gigs, it slowly became clear that there should be something bigger. Their music, as well as music of other bands within their circle should be brought to the big stage in a concentrated way.

The general idea:
„We buy a few crates of beer, build up a stage and invite 15 bands from various genres. On this basis, we can party for two days with friends and anyone else who’s up for it. If we don’t end up losing money in the end, it’s all good.“

Under the pretext of a birthday party, the Trafostation 61-festival - aka Trafo - took place in 2011 for the first time. Shortly before the last band took to the stage, it was broken up by police. Before that, however, everything had run amazingly well. It was clear that it needed to happen again, but the next time it would have to be done right - including everything that comes with it.

2012 was the first official year of Trafo: the department of public order, fire department, police and the mayor were on board for preliminary planning. The two day event became three. The organization, legal affairs and event finance management led to the founding of the non-profit Kulturtrafo Frechen association, which, as of March 2016, has 135 honorary members, donors and volunteers.
Since then, Trafo has always taken place on the second weekend of August on the eponymous Trafostation 61 site, an old grill area on a forest clearing near Frechen-Grefrath. So far the festival has welcomed over 80 bands from Australia, Belgium, Germany, France, Japan, Czech Republic, Norway, Austria and the Netherlands to the stage.

With a modest camping area, diverse food and sales stands, various music, art and environmental sustainability workshops, as well as the fact that there is only one communal grill for all visitors, we offer the opportunity for young and old to grow into one large community in less than three days.
In contrast to the larger festivals, Trafo’s focus is on close proximity and contact between bands and visitors. We offer bands one of the best party crowds, good sound, delicious food and sufficient liquids to prevent dehydration. There are no limits to the music and its genres: from quiet to refreshingly dancable, energetic to grunge, hard-paced to a psychodelic rhythms - we have it all. As soon as the sun sets, the yearly changing light show together with sculptures and artistic installations begin to dance. After the stage dims, each respective day ends with legendary electronic musicians who follow with accentuated aftershow parties, which are welcomingly interrupted by collective drumming sessions.

Bands (2011 until now)

  • Act of Worship
  • Ahab
  • Äläx
  • Alugobi
  • Another Ten Percenter
  • Antilles
  • Apoa
  • Apoa
  • As Prayers Fail
  • Atomic Vulture
  • Axewielder
  • Ayahuasca
  • Banane
  • Blackbox Red
  • Bloodspot
  • Colektivo
  • Creative Injection
  • Crunchy Mama
  • Crying Cockroach
  • Daily Thompson
  • Dead Man's Eyes
  • Dill
  • Dimeless
  • Down by Contact
  • Dust Bolt
  • El Chupacabras
  • Electroshock
  • Everyday Circus
  • Fewsel
  • Flatline
  • Fucking Angry
  • Galactic Superlords
  • Grandma Death
  • Grim Van Doom
  • Hermelin
  • Herr Norcht
  • Hörsturz
  • Huntershreds
  • Hurricane
  • Hyne
  • Hypno5e
  • I am Providence
  • I, Nero
  • Inkarna
  • Insula
  • Jade & Lotus
  • Julius Lahai
  • La Bastard
  • Le Craim
  • Legacy of Vydar
  • Lioba
  • Maco Macoboy und Bro Charity (Bassliebe)
  • Magnetic Mountain
  • Masuria
  • Moaning Cities
  • Modern Day Babylon
  • Monolith
  • Mother's Cake
  • Naked Dave
  • Neon Burton
  • Neurotic Circuit
  • Nicht die Mama
  • Niox
  • Nitro Injekzia
  • One Drop Left
  • Parathym
  • Parsnip Fields
  • Phiasco
  • Powder for Pigeons
  • Pripjat
  • Punk 9 From Outer Space
  • Rat Rooster
  • Rootality Vibration
  • Samsara Blues Experiment
  • Sariduniya
  • Sasquatch
  • Shotgun Valium
  • Sloloris
  • Smi
  • Sons of Apache
  • Sons of Morpheus
  • Spaghetti Fountain aka Magnetic Mountain
  • Spring Up Fall Down
  • Steorrah
  • Stoned Jesus
  • Sturle Dagsland
  • Sunnata
  • Super Hard Boys
  • Tanzkommando
  • Ten-Ku
  • The Chickflicks
  • The Gorilla Gunmen
  • The Great Cold
  • The Helldozers
  • The Love Crime
  • The Store
  • These are the days
  • Toxxeen
  • Überwachungsmodul
  • Values
  • Von Wegen
  • Westwerker
  • Who's Pinski
  • XII Boar
  • Yenga
  • Zaitabaita

History


Den Ursprung nahm das Trafostation 61-Festival in den Jahren 2009 und 2010 im Proberaum der ehemaligen Frechener Bands „Dill“ und „Grandma Death“. Neben verrückten Jamsessions und kleineren Gigs sollte es langsam mal etwas Größeres geben. Die eigene Musik und die der befreundeten Bands sollte in geballter Form auf eine große Bühne gebracht werden.

Die Grundidee:
„Wir kaufen ʼne Palette Bier, zimmern eine Bühne zusammen und laden 15 Bands unterschiedlicher Genres ein. Auf dieser Grundlage wird dann mit Freunden und Jedem, der Lust hat, zwei Tage durchgefeiert. Wenn wir hinterher nicht drauf zahlen müssen, ist alles gut.“

Unter dem Vorwand einer Geburtstagsfeier hat das Trafostation 61-Festival – auch Trafo genannt – im Jahr 2011 das erste Mal stattgefunden. Kurz vor der letzten Band allerdings wurde das Ganze durch die Polizei abgebrochen. Bis zu dem Zeitpunkt hat alles wunderbar funktioniert. Und so war klar, dass es nochmal versucht werden will, diesmal aber sollte es richtig gemacht werden – mit allem was dazu gehört.

2012 dann das erste offizielle Trafojahr: Ordnungsamt, Feuerwehr, Polizei und der Bürgermeister sitzen im Vorfeld bei der Planung mit im Boot. Aus bisher zwei Veranstaltungstagen wurden drei. Die Organisation, die rechtlichen Angelegenheiten und das Verwalten der veranstaltungsabhängigen Finanzen führten am 09.11.2012 zur Gründung des gemeinnützigen Kulturtrafo Frechen e.V., der nunmehr etwa 170 ehrenamtliche Mitglieder, Spender und Helfer zählt.
Seither findet das Trafo immer am zweiten Augustwochenende auf dem namensgebenden Trafostation 61-Gelände, einem alten Grillhüttenplatz auf einer Waldlichtung bei Frechen-Grefrath statt. Bisher durften wir über 90 Bands aus Australien, Belgien, Deutschland, Frankreich, Japan, Tschechien, Norwegen, Österreich und den Niederlanden bei uns auf der Bühne willkommen heißen.

Mit einem überschaubaren Campinggelände, diversen Essens- sowie Verkaufsständen, verschiedenen Workshops zu Musik, Kunst und ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit und der Tatsache, dass es nur einen großen Gemeinschaftsgrill für alle Besucher gibt, bieten wir Jung und Alt die Möglichkeit, innerhalb von drei Tagen zu einer großen Gemeinschaft heranzuwachsen.
Im Gegensatz zu den großen Festivals steht auf dem Trafo vor allem die Nähe und der Kontakt zwischen Bands und Besuchern im Fokus. So können wir den Bands eine der feierwütigsten Crowds, guten Sound, leckeres Essen und ausreichend Flüssigkeit zur Dehydrationsprophylaxe bieten. Der Musik und ihren Genres sind dabei keine Grenzen gesetzt. Von ruhig bis erfrischend tanzbar, von schwungvoll bis sumpfig, von harter bis psychodelischer Gangart ist alles dabei. Sobald die Sonne untergegangen ist, tanzt dazu das jährlich wechselnde Lichterschauspiel nebst Skulpturen und künstlerischen Installationen. Zum Abschluss des jeweiligen Tages, wenn die Bühne dicht gemacht wird, folgen dann die legendären, mit elektronischer Musik untermalten Aftershow Partys, die gerne mal durch eine gemeinsame Drumsession unterbrochen wird.

Bands (2011 – heute)

  • Act of Worship
  • Ahab
  • Äläx
  • Alugobi
  • Another Ten Percenter
  • Antilles
  • Apoa
  • Apoa
  • As Prayers Fail
  • Atomic Vulture
  • Axewielder
  • Ayahuasca
  • Banane
  • Blackbox Red
  • Bloodspot
  • Colektivo
  • Creative Injection
  • Crunchy Mama
  • Crying Cockroach
  • Daily Thompson
  • Dead Man's Eyes
  • Dill
  • Dimeless
  • Down by Contact
  • Dust Bolt
  • El Chupacabras
  • Electroshock
  • Everyday Circus
  • Fewsel
  • Flatline
  • Fucking Angry
  • Galactic Superlords
  • Grandma Death
  • Grim Van Doom
  • Hermelin
  • Herr Norcht
  • Hörsturz
  • Huntershreds
  • Hurricane
  • Hyne
  • Hypno5e
  • I am Providence
  • I, Nero
  • Inkarna
  • Insula
  • Jade & Lotus
  • Julius Lahai
  • La Bastard
  • Le Craim
  • Legacy of Vydar
  • Lioba
  • Maco Macoboy und Bro Charity (Bassliebe)
  • Magnetic Mountain
  • Masuria
  • Moaning Cities
  • Modern Day Babylon
  • Monolith
  • Mother's Cake
  • Naked Dave
  • Neon Burton
  • Neurotic Circuit
  • Nicht die Mama
  • Niox
  • Nitro Injekzia
  • One Drop Left
  • Parathym
  • Parsnip Fields
  • Phiasco
  • Powder for Pigeons
  • Pripjat
  • Punk 9 From Outer Space
  • Rat Rooster
  • Rootality Vibration
  • Samsara Blues Experiment
  • Sariduniya
  • Sasquatch
  • Shotgun Valium
  • Sloloris
  • Smi
  • Sons of Apache
  • Sons of Morpheus
  • Spaghetti Fountain aka Magnetic Mountain
  • Spring Up Fall Down
  • Steorrah
  • Stoned Jesus
  • Sturle Dagsland
  • Sunnata
  • Super Hard Boys
  • Tanzkommando
  • Ten-Ku
  • The Chickflicks
  • The Gorilla Gunmen
  • The Great Cold
  • The Helldozers
  • The Love Crime
  • The Store
  • These are the days
  • Toxxeen
  • Überwachungsmodul
  • Values
  • Von Wegen
  • Westwerker
  • Who's Pinski
  • XII Boar
  • Yenga
  • Zaitabaita